Registration is now open. Click the button below to register for the conference.

Online Registration Fees
The 2018 registration is now open. Pre-registration rates are as follows:
$125 Early Bird Professional Rate
Through Oct. 1st
$155 Pre-conference Professional Rate
Through Dec. 13th
$90 Early Bird First Time Attendee Professional Rate
Through Oct. 1st 
$125 First Time Attendee Professional Rate
Through Dec. 13th 

College Student Rate
Through Dec. 13th

NOTE:  Anyone registered as a spouse or exhibitor will be ineligible to receive a professional development certificate/credit hours for the events attended during the conference.  

View General Conference Info
Subscribe to our newsletter, filled with FREE educational tools and information

Applications to perform or to propose a clinic at the 68th Annual Midwest Clinic are now available!

Exhibitor Contract

Beyond Their Years: Tone, Intonation and the Young Band

  • thumbnail for Chip De Stefano
  • The purpose of this session is to share various teaching techniques, strategies and materials to develop tone and intonation skills in young students.

    Using the McCracken Middle School Symphonic Band as a demonstration group, we'll explore these two issues both in terms of how they apply to individual students and how they apply to the whole ensemble.
  • Chip De Stefano (
  • N/A - N/A
  • Chip De Stefano is currently in his 13th year as Director of Bands at McCracken Middle School in Skokie, Illinois. Under his direction, the McCracken Symphonic Band has received first division ratings at all district and state contests of the Illinois Grade School Music Association, has received several invitations to the University of Illinois Superstate Concert Band Festival, and has regularly presented concerts and clinic sessions at the IMEA All State Conference. In 2006, the Symphonic Band performed at the Midwest Clinic and was also the recipient of the John Philip Sousa Foundation’s Sudler Silver Cup.

    Mr. De Stefano is a recipient of ten National Band Association Citations of Excellence. He was awarded the Chicagoland Outstanding Music Educator Award in 2001 and the IGSMA Barbara Buehlmann Young Conductor Award in 2004.