Registration is now open. Click the button below to register for the conference.

Online Registration Fees
The 2018 registration is now open. Pre-registration rates are as follows:
$125 Early Bird Professional Rate
Through Oct. 1st
$155 Pre-conference Professional Rate
Through Dec. 13th
$90 Early Bird First Time Attendee Professional Rate
Through Oct. 1st 
$125 First Time Attendee Professional Rate
Through Dec. 13th 

College Student Rate
Through Dec. 13th

NOTE:  Anyone registered as a spouse or exhibitor will be ineligible to receive a professional development certificate/credit hours for the events attended during the conference.  

View General Conference Info
Subscribe to our newsletter, filled with FREE educational tools and information

The Key To Creativity: Think Like a Kid

  • thumbnail for Michael Colgrass
  • A presentation on a method Colgrass created for using graphic notation to teach children and music teachers how to create music. This program is designed so that the teachers can quickly apply this method without a composer being present. Participants will create and sing their own graphic piece on the spot using this creativity process.
  • Michael Colgrass (
  • N/A - N/A
  • Michael Colgrass graduated from the University of Illinois in 1954 in percussion performance and composition. He freelanced in New York City with the New York Philharmonic, Dizzy Gillespie, West Side Story orchestra on Broadway and the Stravinsky Conducts Stravinsky series at Columbia Records, among others. He has been commissioned by America’s top orchestras, chamber groups, wind ensembles and bands, and his works are played around the world. He won the 1978 Pulitzer Prize for Music, an Emmy Award in 1982, two Guggenheim Fellowships, grants from the Rockefeller and Ford foundations, and First Prize in the Barlow and Sudler International Wind Ensemble Competitions. His method of teaching graphic notation to children has been adopted into the junior high curriculum for Nova Scotia. His new autobiography, “Adventures of an American Composer,” is published by Meredith Music.