Sign Up
Subscribe to our newsletter, filled with FREE educational tools and information

Applications to perform or to propose a clinic at the 68th Annual Midwest Clinic are now available!

Exhibitor Contract Advertiser Contract Composition Contest

It's a Swing Thing

  • thumbnail for Jose Antonio Diaz, J. Richard Dunscomb, Antonio J. Garcia
  • The Oak Prairie Junior High School Jazz Band, under the direction of William Rank, will perform a swing selection, followed by advice from José for the rhythm section, Tony on improvisation, and Dick regarding overall ensemble style. The session will close with the band performing that selection again. Junior high and middle school directors are especially encouraged to attend and consider these suggestions towards applying their ensembles to present at a future Midwest Clinic.
  • Jose Antonio Diaz, J. Richard Dunscomb, Antonio J. Garcia (
  • N/A - N/A
  • José Antonio Diaz is artistic director for the Diaz Music Institute and director of bands at MacArthur HS in Houston. His bands appeared with Jon Faddis, Eddie Palmieri, Poncho Sanchez, and Arturo Sandoval. Diaz was selected by FOX 26 and Univision TV as a Hispanic Hero. Antonio J. García has performed as trombonist, bass trombonist, or pianist with 70 major artists including Ella Fitzgerald, Billy Eckstine, Louie Bellson, Dave Brubeck, and Phil Collins. He is an author, clinician, and avid scat-singer. He is director of jazz studies at Virginia Commonwealth University. J. Richard Dunscomb is recognized nationally and internationally as a conductor, author, adjudicator, and clinician. Honors received include the International Association of Jazz Educators Hall of Fame, The Midwest Clinic Medal of Honor, and an Elkhart Jazz Festival Lifetime Achievement Award.