Sign Up
Subscribe to our newsletter, filled with FREE educational tools and information

Applications to perform or to propose a clinic at the 68th Annual Midwest Clinic are now available!

Exhibitor Contract Advertiser Contract

IT IS BETTER TO ILLUMINATE THAN TO SHINE: A Credo for All Teachers and Conductors

  • thumbnail for Frank Battisti
  • The mission of a school music teacher and/or ensemble director is to illuminate the expressive power found in great music. This illumination comes about through effective, inspiring teaching and leadership – the kind that can motivate students to develop their technical and executive music-making skills, imagination and musical knowledge.
  • Frank Battisti (
  • N/A - N/A
  • Frank L. Battisti is Conductor Emeritus of the New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble which he founded and conducted for 30 years (1969-99). He was also Principal Guest Conductor of the Longy School of Music Chamber Winds, Cambridge, MA from 2000 – 2008 and founder and Music Director of the Tanglewood Institute’s Young Artists Wind Ensemble from 2000 - 2004. As a guest conductor he has directed wind ensembles/bands throughout the United States, England, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Scandinavia, Australia, China, Taiwan, Canada, South America, South Korea, Iceland and the former U.S.S.R. Battisti began his career as an instrumental teacher in the Ithaca (New York) City School District in 1953. He served as Director of the Ithaca High School Band from 1955 - 1967. The Band, achieved national recognition, under Battisti’s direction, as one of the finest and most unique high school bands in the nation. In 1997 the John Philip Sousa Foundation selected Battisti's Ithaca High School Concert Band for their Historic Roll of Honor of High School Concert Bands, 1920 -1980. Battisti was also responsible for commissioning and premiering over 60 works for wind ensemble by distinguished American and international composers including Leslie Bassett, John Harbison, Witold Lutoslawski, Vincent Persichetti, Michael Colgrass, Gunther Schuller, Sir Michael Tippett, Robert Ward and Alec Wilder.