Skip to main content


December, 20, 2023
11:30 AM - 12:00 PM
December, 22, 2023
08:30 AM - 09:00 AM




Erin Cole-Steele

Erin Cole-Steele

[email protected]

Day One - Flute

Clinic Synopsis:

Day one clinics are presented by master teachers who have demonstrated a high degree of success in providing sound pedagogical methods for teaching beginning students, or in assisting more advanced students who may have developed bad habits detrimental to producing characteristic tone and/or habits detrimental to technical mastery. Day One clinics will take place in an intimate and personal space so that each attendee may enjoy a close view of demonstrated techniques.

Erin Cole-Steele - Biographical Information

Erin Cole Steele is the Director of the Division of Education and a Senior Clinician for Conn Selmer. She was the Band Director at Tapp Middle School in Cobb County, Georgia (1995-2017) where she was named Teacher of the Year. The Tapp Band received numerous accolades, including performing at the 58th Midwest Clinic. Erin commissioned four works, including Robert W. Smith's The Great Locomotive Chase, Frank Ticheli's Simple Gifts-Four Shaker Songs, Samuel R. Hazo’s Ascend, and in the consortium commissioning Eric Whitacre's The Seal Lullaby. Erin is a contributing editor for Hal Leonard’s Essential Elements for Band. She has written for three editions of the GIA publication Teaching Music Through Performance and has contributed a chapter to Rehearsing the Middle School Band by Stephen Meyer. Erin is a conductor and speaker and has presented at the Midwest Clinic as well as state and international conferences. She has served as the conductor for All-State and regional honor bands, appearing in over 30 states. Erin served as the conductor for Youth Bands of Atlanta, 2011-2017. She was the founder and administrator of the Cobb County Summer Band Camp, Georgia. She has served as a clinician for the Music for All Summer Symposium and is currently the Executive Director for The Conn Selmer Institute. Her professional affiliations include Phi Beta Mu, Sigma Alpha Iota, and the National Band Association from whom she was awarded the Citation of Excellence in 2015, 2008, and 2003.