Skip to main content


December, 18, 2024
12:15 PM - 01:15 PM




Natalie Boeyink

Natalie Boeyink

[email protected]

From Reading to Walking: Basic Techniques for Jazz Bass Line Construction

Clinic Synopsis:

An essential skill for jazz bassists, this session will demonstrate techniques for teaching jazz ensemble bassists who want to learn to create and perform their own walking bass lines in real time from chord changes, rather than play the written bass lines. Emphasis will be placed on jazz charts in the 4/4 swing style with additional information on ballads.

Natalie Boeyink - Biographical Information

Natalie Boeyink, bassist and educator, is Associate Professor of Music in Jazz Studies at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music. After completing her doctorate in music education at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music in 2015, Boeyink spent eight years as a Jazz Lecturer and Senior Lecturer in the University of North Carolina system. She holds a MM in Jazz Performance (University of Louisville), and a BM in Jazz Studies (Indiana University). Her interest in the educational experiences and careers of jazzwomen has launched a series of research projects, conference presentations and publications, including her dissertation, "An Analysis and Description of Female Jazz Instrumentalists." An advocate for jazzwomen, Boeyink served as Chair of the Jazz Education Network’s Women in Jazz Committee and worked to reestablish the Sisters in Jazz Collegiate Combo Competition. Batuquê Trio is Boeyink’s seasoned collaboration with drummer Andy Smith and pianist Jamaal Baptiste. Focusing on contemporary Brazilian, Afro-Cuban, and Caribbean jazz, the trio frequently appears at jazz festivals as performers and clinicians. Their first CD, Transparency, was released in 2015, and a second album is forthcoming in 2024. Some of Boeyink’s notable performances include appearances with Tammy McCann, Jamie Baum, Ingrid Jensen, Terri Lyne Carrington, Christine Jensen, Leni Stern, Jovino Santos Neto, Joe Piscopo, David ‘Fathead’ Newman, Jon Hendricks, Jeff Coffin, David Liebman, and Lorraine Feather.